Meet Ajey

James Lee
3 min readMay 3, 2023

--

What’s your name, and where are you from?

Good evening. My name is Ajey, and I’m from Miami, Florida. Born in New York, I moved around a lot due to being in foster care, but I was blessed to be raised by a caring parent. Rest her beautiful soul.

Why do you love what you do?

I love making music because I feel it’s the only place I can voice my thoughts and people actually understand me. It’s also a place where I actually have peace, which makes me love it.

What makes you different?

My music is based on experiences I’ve personally gone through vs. what’s currently popular to make music about. Many artists always get lost in trends. I am an artist who is trying to be the creator of a trend. I get asked all the time what sparked my love for music. I’ll never forget being 11 years old, rapping in a basement with my sibling, and reciting a bar so insanely good that the whole room was stunned at the very moment. As an 11-year-old kid, I knew that feeling was something I wanted forever. I feel that yes, we’re all humans, but we all have different experiences, and we all have our own perspectives on life. That automatically makes me different because I speak about real life, love, or actual things that I’ve been through in real life.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself traveling, touring, and sharing my music with individuals who care about and love it. Life is honestly full of ups and downs, so you’ll never actually know where you will be, but losing my mother to COVID made me realize time is valuable. In 5 years, I see myself accomplishing unrealistic things.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

What I want to accomplish in life is being able to take care of myself and my family, making sure everyone is okay and has anything they desire or need. I don’t expect this to be an easy task to complete, but I do believe that with hard work and determination, literally anything is possible in the next 5 years.

What do you bring to your industry?

I bring to the industry the OK to be different. So many artists focus on fitting in and staying relevant, but I want to be true and last. I also want to bring back the creativity many get lost in just having a lot of, but what happened to the love for the art of music in the industry? I want to bring back creativity on so many levels. Lastly, I want to bring back R&B-love-type music songs that you can listen to at max volume at a red light without having to fear that you might hear the wrong song. Bring back music with substance and meaning!

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered as the artist who connected with his fans and made a positive impact, not a negative one. Many people get into a position and forget where they came from and who helped them. I want to be remembered as the person who also cared for his fans and didn’t forget them, knowing that I don’t see just a dollar sign but that I feel and connect with each and every one of them. I want my music to be played even hundreds of years from now, which is why I give every song recorded my all. I want to be remembered and loved genuinely by all of my supporters, and lastly, I want them to remember my flow and approach to a beat.

--

--

James Lee

Chris Collins is an American multimedia journalist from Los Angelas, California