Introducing the musically gifted Jerome Renard

James Lee
3 min readOct 12, 2022

What’s your name and your story?

My name is Jerome Renard and I’m a mixing engineer working on pop and mainstream music across the globe.

I was born in Belgium, and started my journey in a recording studio as a curious 16yo kid pushing every button and fader I could get my hands on.

Since then, I’ve been in a studio almost every day working with some of the top producers, composers, and artists, which gave me the opportunity to develop my ear with professionals.

I got out of Belgium, worked in Paris, London, Bristol, and 5 years ago settled down in Los Angeles. Now I’m running my own business, and working with artists in more than 40 countries.

Why do you love mixing?

It’s all about the connection.

I make sure that you can feel the emotion of the song, and also enjoy the sound of it.

For me it’s a pair that always goes together.

Being a food lover and cooking from an early age, I often say that mixing and cooking are really similar. It’s all about creating a balance to bring out the best of each part. There’s the sensibility of each element, the feelings you get each moment, and the impact it leaves when it’s over.

--

--

James Lee

Chris Collins is an American multimedia journalist from Los Angelas, California